So today is a tough day. It took every inch of my mental strength to get out of bed. I tried to eat breakfast but I couldn’t face it so I just had a cup of tea and pulled some clothes on.

My only reason for getting up and out the house is to help a great friend of mine and I know that when I get there I’ll be fine and enjoy my day.

Why am I feeling so awful?  There is as usual no logical reason.

I found out I have a new Christmas temp job to help out with some much needed money and I have a few people interested in my freelance writing.  Life is on the up.

Yet I feel absolutely worthless and unable to achieve very much.

So today I’m going to try something new.

I’m going to try talking to myself in the same way I talk to my friends when they have a bad day.

Why?

Well low mood often leads us to talk to ourselves in a way we would never talk to another human being.

You’re worthless, fat, useless, stupid… would I ever say this to anyone else, friend or foe? Never! So why is it acceptable to talk to myself like this?

Truth is it’s not.

Something that I once got asked to do when feeling awful is the list below.

(credit has to go to my sister)

1) Write something nice you’ve done today

2) Write something nice about your personality

3) Write something nice about your appearance

4) Write something nice you’ve eaten

5) Who have you spoken to today that made your day happier?

It helps you realise that there is always something good going on in your life, however small (like in my case I like the shape of my eyebrows).

Today is tough but the good thing about today is that I have some strength that I don’t always have.

I have the strength to push myself to turn it around.

I’m going to speak nicely to myself and fill out the five positive things about myself and fight my lows as hard as I can.

Today started off badly but it doesn’t have to stay that way.

It’s time to talk to yourself the way you would to a friend.  Cut yourself some slack and let yourself be appreciated.

