So my last post (which you can read here) was on the frustration I have felt with the NHS waiting lists and the fact that I have to wait 12 weeks to see someone to review my medication.

I decided to direct my frustrations into doing some research and found out that I will need a tidy £300 to see a private psychiatrist.  In my naivety I thought maybe I could get covered by private healthcare but it turns out that no one will cover a pre-existing condition and also most don’t cover mental healthcare.

So now I am faced with a decision.  Do I use what little resources I have available to me and pay to see someone privately?

I am so incredibly frustrated with the NHS service in Manchester.  I have to specify that it is in Manchester that the service is terrible and not all over the country.  In other parts of the country and let’s face it I have moved around a lot, I have had some excellent services.

Manchester has been awful though.  I don’t know how people who are in crisis cope.  Personally I phoned Mind.  An excellent charity and they really helped calm me down, and suggested some numbers for me to call.

A great resource when you don’t feel quite ill enough to need to talk to the Samaritans for example.

(In my head phoning the Samaritans is reserved for absolute crisis point and I didn’t want to take some phone line space for someone who may have needed them more)

So first of all – I cannot speak highly enough of the charity options out there available for helping you.

Second of all – I cannot believe that despite paying taxes etc. we have to resort to charity work to supplement a shoddy service by the authorities.

I shouldn’t have to go private; I shouldn’t have to phone a charity.

I should be able to be treated in a timely manner by the NHS.

However, the world is full of shoulds.

So now I have to decide what I am going to do.  Still worried about the money side of it I have decided the first step is to try and talk to a GP next week.  (Plus even if I go private I still need a referral letter from the GP to the private psychiatrist).

I don’t think I can wait the 12 weeks to see the NHS psychiatrist so I guess the decision is kind of made.  Now to somehow afford it; anyone want to buy one of my vital organs!?

I’ll let you all know next week what happens but it looks like I’m going to attempt to go private.

Money is overrated anyway.  Who needs it………….

PS If you need to talk to the Samaritans their contact details can be found here:http://www.samaritans.org/how-we-can-help-you/contact-us

Or if you need some advice from Mind their contact details can be found here: http://www.mind.org.uk/information-support/helplines/

 

